Tags

, , , , , , ,

We love our ‘before we go’ routines.  For our trips to NYC, it has to be a film-fest of movies set in or around the Big Apple to get us in the mood (in my case very giddy! 🙂

Here’s our list of favourites!

 

What’s on the shelf waiting for us…

 

You've Got Mail (soundtrack)

Image via Wikipedia

You’ve Got Mail – Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks…a great fix for shots of the
Upper West Side…Zabar’s…Verdi Square…Riverside Gardens…Starbuck’s moments  (I smile every time I hear someone order one of these for ‘real’…)

 

 

Joe Fox: The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who on earth they are can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.

 

Two Weeks Notice– Sandra Bullock and Hugh Grant – there’s a brilliant bit of dialogue

Cover of "Two Weeks Notice (Widescreen Ed...

Cover via Amazon

whilst they’re in the helicopter (after the mobile home toilet incident) passingthe Chrysler Building… it ends with the following dialogue in a ‘Jeapardy’ homage…

 

George – All right, please give me the name of Van AIen’s former partner.

 

Lucy – Who is H. Craig Severance?

 

George – I find you…(spreading his hands) annoying

 

Lucy – Yes, I’m sure you do

 

Mirror Has Two Faces – Barbra Striesand and Jeff Bridges (and a great end-title song from Barbra and Bryan Adams… (click here for the YouTube video)

 

Radio Days – classic Woody Allen with great atmosphere

 

Music & Lyrics – another Hugh Grant film – this time with Reese Witherspoon.  Yes it’s daft, but we love it!  (The faked 80’s songs are really quite catching…now have ‘Pop Goes My Heart’ stuck in my head…! Yes I know Hugh Grant can’t dance – in fact he can’t dance in almost the exact same way in Love Actually, but hey, who could in these type of REAL 80’s videos??? LOL)

 

Night at a Museum – I was a bit disappointed that the lobby of the Museum of Natural History DOESN’T have Rexie in the foyer but hey…!  That’s movies for you!  🙂

 

Film still from the famous restaurant scene

Image via Wikipedia

When Harry Met SallyWho can forget Meg Ryan and Billy Crystal in this classic!  I love the shot of Washington Park in the early part of the film, where Sally drops Harry off after their road trip to college with the following dialogue…

 

Harry Burns: You realize of course that we could never be friends.
Sally Albright: Why not?
Harry Burns: What I’m saying is – and this is not a come-on in any way, shape or form – is that men and women can’t be friends because the sex part always gets in the way.
Sally Albright: That’s not true. I have a number of men friends and there is no sex involved.
Harry Burns: No you don’t.
Sally Albright: Yes I do.
Harry Burns: No you don’t.
Sally Albright: Yes I do.
Harry Burns: You only think you do.
Sally Albright: You say I’m having sex with these men without my knowledge?
Harry Burns: No, what I’m saying is they all WANT to have sex with you.
Sally Albright: They do not.
Harry Burns: Do too.
Sally Albright: They do not.
Harry Burns: Do too.
Sally Albright: How do you know?
Harry Burns: Because no man can be friends with a woman that he finds attractive. He always wants to have sex with her.
Sally Albright: So, you’re saying that a man can be friends with a woman he finds unattractive?
Harry Burns: No. You pretty much want to nail ’em too.
Sally Albright: What if THEY don’t want to have sex with YOU?
Harry Burns: Doesn’t matter because the sex thing is already out there so the friendship is ultimately doomed and that is the end of the story.
Sally Albright: Well, I guess we’re not going to be friends then.
Harry Burns: I guess not.
Sally Albright: That’s too bad. You were the only person I knew in New York.

 

Hannah and Her Sisters – another classic Woody Allen.  Michael Caine is great in it!

 

Bone Collector – one of Mike’s choices…Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie.  Not one I watch but Mike always spots one of our favourite bars – Annies – in one of the scenes.

 

What we’d watch if we had it… (in fact there may be the possibility a purchase coming on….!)

 

Working Girl (I always have Carly Simon singing her heart out in my head whenever I’m on the Staten Island Ferry – I usually sing along – sorry fellow ferry passengers! 🙂 )

 

27 Dresses

 

Ghostbusters I & II

 

What we watch on TV whenever they’re on for a regular NYC ‘fix’!

 

CSI: NY

 

Blue Bloods

 

Now then…where’s that remote…

 

