Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been getting my holiday planning ‘fix’ this afternoon, which as the flights are booked means browsing the internet for our hotel!  For me, the planning part is (almost) as good as the going part.  I love scouting out the hotel locations on street maps – either the excellent electronic Google Maps complete with the much maligned ‘Street View’, or our trusty paper Popout Map.

For our last visit in June, we stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in the Garment District.   We really like the area – who couldn’t with Herald Square literally a stone’s throw away – and Macy’s of course – and one of our favourite coffee bars, Culture Espresso (featured in one of my earlier posts Espresso – NYC Style! ), in the same area.  We also ventured into a really great bar called O’Reillys – nothing out of the ordinary,  just your usual friendly New York bar with bar staff that make you feel both welcome and comfortable. Oh and there’s Keens of course…our favourite steakhouse in NYC.  (Hmmm…future post material me thinks…)

We thought we’d try a different hotel again this visit (we’ve stayed at the Grand Hyatt at Grand Central, the Iroquois and the Hilton Garden Inn so far…) and as I’ve posted about before in Location, Location, Location, that means somewhere close to my beloved Bryant Park.  I think I’ve managed to find a great alternative – The Strand Hotel.

  • Close to Bryant Park – check
  • Walking distance to favourite haunts (Red Flame Coffee Shop, Keens, Macy’s, Annie Moores, Culture Espresso) – check
  • Not too ‘touristy’ – check
  • Totally non-smoking hotel – check (it’s brand new so no leftover nicotine smell either!)

Oh, and they also have a pretty amazing rooftop bar… Top Of The Strand (they also have a Facebook page with some great photos!)

Right…where’s that credit card…

